PreSchool 2013-2014

How is it already school year 2013? I can’t believe how fast this past year has flown by!

I wasn’t really planning on doing much this year in way of “school”. Rather, planning for next year as I figured my time would be a little tighter 12 months from now!

However, on a whim I re-looked at Sonlight Curriculum and knew it was for us. RIGHT NOW. They have 2 preschool “Core” selections and the first looked perfect for Silas. There were multiple books we have, even more I wanted to read, and the rest look great!    So, within a few days I researched, talked with Sonlight Lovers (like my sister!), prayed and purchased the parents guide and a few books to get us started.

One of the great things about “Homeschooling” is that I am SO excited about this learning journey WITH my kids. I’m stoked to be reading Fables and Fairy Tales, even Richard Scary and Dr. Seuss. I absolutely love that their P3/4 (Preschool 3 & 4 year olds)  is geared for 1 hr a day, 4-5 days a week. It is “only” Bible, literature, art and singing.  This is a great set to do with both my boys at the same time, especially with them being so close in age.

Along with our literature based approach, I’m hoping to see how we can add in some Charlotte Mason  aspects to our exploration of learning this year too… That will be a work in progress in our city life and adding a newborn to the mix in just a few months. But! It will be fun for me to get out of my comfort zone and figure ways  to enjoy and learn in nature  with my kids!
Nerd Alert: Spread sheet, ThriftBooks.com & Amazon Used books and the city Library Catalog, along with our Curriculum book list.  I got some great deals and am beyond thrilled to start this new journey.

Screen shot 2013-08-23 at 7.34.48 AM

I can’t wait to get started!!!

Sonlight Curriculum P3/4 Book List:

  • Family Bible
  • 20th Century Children’s Book Treasury
  • A First Book of Fairy Tales
  • Make Way for McCloskey
  • The Bee Tree
  • Eloise Wilkin Stories
  • Go, Dog, Go!
  • Hans Christian Andersen’s Fairy Tales
  • Horton Hatches the Egg
  • Ian and the Gigantic Leafy Obstacle
  • Mike Mulligan and More
  • Nana Upstairs & Nan Downstairs
  • Noah’s Ark
  • Our Animal Friends at Maple Hill Farm
  • Poems and Prayers for the Very Young
  • Richard Scarry’s What Do People Do All Day?
    The Tall Book of Nursery Tales
  • Harper Collins Treasury of Picture Book Classics
  • The Usborne Flip Flap Body Book

 

Leave a Reply

