Teaching Moments: Serving

Deuteronomy 6:3-8

Listen obediently, Israel. Do what you’re told so that you’ll have a good life, a life of abundance and bounty, just as God promised, in a land abounding in milk and honey.
Attention, Israel!
God, our God! God the one and only!
Love God, your God, with your whole heart: love him with all that’s in you, love him with all you’ve got!

Write these commandments that I’ve given you today on your hearts. Get them inside of you and then get them inside your children. Talk about them wherever you are, sitting at home or walking in the street; talk about them from the time you get up in the morning to when you fall into bed at night. Tie them on your hands and foreheads as a reminder; inscribe them on the doorposts of your homes and on your city gates.

As I think about my day as a Mama, I know that there is no way I can teach Christ’s love ever moment of the day. My attitude, stress level and short temper from lack of sleep or skipping meals, and sin nature make it impossible. I look back on the last hour and think, “Yeah, I did a pretty good job {Let’s be real, only one was awake} … but this morning, well it could have done better… Last night? Pfshh, glad no one was around when I was frustrated with Silas for doing this or that… and then when Isaac wasn’t listening either….” Nope. I don’t live up doing my job of instilling Christ’s commandments 100% of the time, in my kids.

But I am trying. I am trying to make it a priority in my parenting and family!!

This year in our Mom’s group at church, we are talking about Service and how to incorporate it into our lives and families, even with small children. Many times I fail at being a mom, but I want my kids to remember growing up doing things for others and that serving and giving was apart of our family. Not something we “did” around Christmas time, or on special occasions. But that it is a regular part of our family.

This past week we were able to serve at a local organization called Giving Children Hope with a group of moms & kids from our Moms Group. We clean backpacks and sorted food for their “We’ve Got Your Back” Program as well as back bags of food for families for a Thanksgiving meal. It was so great to see our moms & kids working together stacking food on shelves and having conversations about serving those in need with our 2, 3 and 4 year olds! I just loved it!

20121118-154258.jpg

Thanks to Jessie for picture taking!!!

20121118-154248.jpg

On Saturday, Silas, Isaac & I packed up and headed to Target to fill a box for a Operation Christmas Child! Silas picked out some hot wheels, his favorite snacks, some cool underwear, toothbrush & coloring books! We talked about how we are blessed to live in a house with warm clothes, and pick out yummy food at the store and get special toys. Some kids aren’t blessed like we are too live in such nice places. We talked about giving things to “Friends” we have never met. Instead of eating the snacks and play with the toys we got right away, Silas did a great job talking about giving it to his friends when we got home! I was really proud of him. Our friend Brady came over with his mama, Mandy. We packed up our boxes and walked them across to the Church across the street. We handed them to the ladies packing up boxes that will be shipped out this month! The boys are still, and don’t understand all we talked about. But I LOVE including them in tangible ways and starting conversations now!!!

There are a lot of “opportunities” right now with Thanksgiving and Christmas just around the corner. But I am excited to keep seeking out ways to make serving others more, and constantly part of our lives and our kids right along with us. Not just when it is easy. When it fits in our budget. When we have “extra” time. But all the time. When we see others in need, and when God calls us to step outside our comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

