Intentional Parenting

I’ve been struggling with parenting “techniques” & discipline these past few weeks. Silas is more then ball of endless energy, ideas and strong will power. From tantrums when re-directed, to learning how to share, playing with off limit things, and so much more, sometimes I just don’t even know where to start. I mean, he’s ONE for goodness sakes! I wasn’t expecting all these things so soon. 


I’ve found, however, that just like nap and eating schedules or improving your marriage, I’m not sure there is any specific method that is “right” or “wrong”… Funny, since life for me is black or white in so many things. For instance, is the concept of “LOVE & RESPECT” the key to making your marriage amazing? Or Dr. Laura’s “Proper Care & Feeding of Husbands?”, or Maybe Sacred Marriage has been a key role for you? In the realm of parenting, I started with Babe Wise. Then there is the gentle parenting ideas, Dr. Sear’s method’s, and so many more. Do you say “no, no” in your house? Or maybe, “Not for Silas”? To spank or not to spank? Time outs in the crib? or against the wall? 


I mean, the decisions and possibilities are endless. And along with each combination of decisions, you have both parent personalities and each child to take in to consideration. 


I’m not here to say one type of parenting is better or worse then another, or that saying “no” is wrong… My point is, Parenting in Intentional. It MUST be. Deuteronomy 6:6-9  says, 

“These commandments that I give you today are to be upon your hearts. Impress them on your children. Talk about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up. Tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads. Write them on the door frames of your houses and on your gates.”



All day long, in all that we do as parents, we are to teach our children about our Heavenly Father. In all that I do, I need to be intentional. So whatever gets the job “done” (with in reason!!!) is how and what I need to do as a Mama, to point my children to Christ. That sure is a tall order… being intentional. Here we go….

2 thoughts on “Intentional Parenting

  1. You definitely aren't alone. These are the joys (ha) we get as parents in raising up our little ones to know right from wrong and so on.. There are days where I'm just like "really?!?" but then I am reminded that the Lord trusted US with Kate and then the disciplining doesn't seem as daunting knowing that we are raising her up in a Christ loving home. You're doing a great job and he is going to grow up to be a fabulous young man!

Leave a Reply

