Home Sweet Home

My Dearest Baby Silas,

Your daddy has been home a week now & I’m finally getting around to capturing my thoughts the best I can.

Last February (2010) your daddy left for his final training in Mississippi, before leaving for Afghanistan.

May 2nd he came home for the weekend as a surprise before heading off to the Middle East.

Just a month later, you arrived on June 8th.

December 22nd he made it home for 2 weeks to meet YOU! & celebrate the birth of our Savior here at home.

And finally, March 20th, we met him at the airport, to welcome him home!

Over 430 days of training, briefing, deployment, medical, travel and more briefing, we are together as a family again.

The sun is brighter, my heart is lighter, I can take a whole breath, I feel complete, things feel ‘right’ again. I can’t explain it. But it is good. Its good to be a family. To see my little boy play with his daddy. I love seeing your face light up when you see him, or squeal with laughter when you play. Its good to see you together.

I am so thankful for all the support of our family, friends & church. When I was 34 weeks pregnant with you, I wrote a blog about getting thru the next year. I can’t believe we are standing on the other side now. A whole year later. We have made it. Silas, you are still living and breathing, and I think a pretty happy baby. Your daddy has made it home safely. And I too have made it, sanity in tact for the most part. Would I have chosen this for myself or you, given all the options? Probably not…. But I would do it again in a heart beat. I know this has grown my spiritual walk with my Savior. Brought my husband and I closer. Given me a most special relationship with you, my sweet little boy. Have there been times I’ve wanted to throw in the towel? Of course. I’m only human… But God has been faithful. Faithful in the little things from providing “babysitters” for when I needed a break to being Faithful in big things like protecting Brock when it seemed impossible. There were days I clung to my God’s promises with tears and a heavy hear. But I knew that His plans were great, His ways are perfect and no matter what happened, He would never leave us. How can I doubt what He can do in my life?

2nd Samuel 22

26 “To the faithful you show yourself faithful,
to the blameless you show yourself blameless,…

29 You are my lamp, O LORD;
the LORD turns my darkness into light.

30 With your help I can advance against a troop;
with my God I can scale a wall.

31 “As for God, his way is perfect;
the word of the LORD is flawless.
He is a shield
for all who take refuge in him.

32 For who is God besides the LORD ?
And who is the Rock except our God?

33 It is God who arms me with strength
and makes my way perfect.

34 He makes my feet like the feet of a deer;
he enables me to stand on the heights.

35 He trains my hands for battle;
my arms can bend a bow of bronze.

36 You give me your shield of victory;
you stoop down to make me great.

37 You broaden the path beneath me,
so that my ankles do not turn…

40 You armed me with strength for battle…

47 “The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock!
Exalted be God, the Rock, my Savior!…

50 Therefore I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations;
I will sing praises to your name.”

I stand in awe of all that God has done in our lives over the past year. The past few years haven’t always been easy. But I think that makes me cherish our time together more. I’m looking forward to the great & exciting things our Creator has in store for us this next year… I kinda hope they are “dull” compared to this past year!

Know this little one. Your sacrifice was great. And it will continue to be so. There will be many days, weekends and months your daddy will not be here. He doesn’t have a Monday to Friday 8-5 job. He will always be “on call”. There are few who will understand. But I am proud of you. You are resilient. You are a fighter. You have a Mighty God on your side. You are strong. We, are ARMY STRONG. I can’t promise things will be easy. We didn’t choose an easy path. But God is our rock and our strength. Remember that we do this because it is something we believe in. You are a soldier’s son. Your daddy fights because he believes in this country and its freedoms. To keep you safe and protect you.

This past year has been a joy to raise you Silas. We did it. You and me. God on our side. Ohhraah Silas.

All my love,

Mama

“The LORD lives! Praise be to my Rock!
Exalted be God, the Rock, my Savior!…

Therefore I will praise you, O LORD, among the nations;
I will sing praises to your name.”

2 thoughts on “Home Sweet Home

  1. I am so happy for you! Also, it's awesome that Brock made it home before Silas's first birthday. You have done an amazing job and I am so excited for you guys to be together as a family.

Leave a Reply

